I’m not going to lie; I’m a fan of Nintendo, ever since I was playing video games on the original Nintendo Entertainment System.  I’ve pretty much always purchased any new Nintendo system that has come out.  I’ve owned the NES, SNES, N64, GameCube, and Wii for home consoles and the Gameboy, Gameboy Color, Gameboy Advanced, and DS Lite for portable gaming systems.  I’ve never regretted any of those purchases because I’ve always found enough software that I enjoyed, that justified buying the console to me.

So, it shouldn’t be too much of a surprise that I plan on getting the Wii U.  I don’t feel like I’ll be buying this system simply because it is made by Nintendo, though that most likely is a factor.  I’m genuinely excited about what it has to offer.

Wii U Gamepad:  Personally, I love the concept of the tablet controller.  At first I was hesitant since I wasn’t sure how comfortable that would be.  I’ve been reassured by several third parties who have had hands on impressions say that it is actually surprisingly comfortable.  I like the different gaming concepts that Nintendo has shown in their upcoming games which use the tablet controller in different ways, but I also like the idea of using it not just for gaming, but for the other software aspects for the console, such as Nintendo TVii.

Nintendo TVii:  I like the idea of having a console that also lets you view content for internet videos, television, and movies.  This is all intended to be included with Wii U through Nintendo TVii, and unlike the Xbox 360, these features will be free, no subscription to some ‘gold’ service to use them.  Could the Wii U be used as a true media center?  I don’t know, but it seems like that may be a possibility, and I like that concept.

Miiverse:  I’m actually fairly surprised that Nintendo is going to have a better relationship with the idea of network connectivity.  I’m not a big user of multiplayer online games, but maybe that could change.  Some of the other integrated features, such as showing other player’s comments or warnings inside of a game seems intriguing to me as well.  I look forward to a new entry in Animal Crossing for the Wii U, one that hopefully comes to fully realize its full potential, instead of adding slight improvements on old features.  That would be very exciting.

HD Graphics:  This has never been a big issue for me, but I do like the games to look good.  This doesn’t necessarily require HD graphics but it’s nice to know that the new system will be capable.  This means that, hopefully, many third party titles that I am interested in will also be available on the Wii U.  It is unfortunate, but there are some titles that I’ve missed out on in the past because I only owned the Nintendo system.  The one title that pretty much convinced me to get an Xbox 360 was Batman Arkham Asylum.  I don’t regret buying the 360 because I have played a number of great titles on that as well.  Still, I try not to buy more than one console in one ‘generation’ because they aren’t what I would consider cheap, and the Wii U is looking like it will have good third party support, which means if/when the next Arkham game comes out, I shouldn’t have to get a different console to play it.

Games:  I’ve seen a good amount of titles listed that are going to be released for the Wii U, and there are a number of them that I will definitely be picking up, and several others that I am interested in and might purchase.  This list consists of Nintendo Land, New Super Mario Bros. U, ZombiU, Rayman Legends, Aliens: Colonial Marines, 007 Legends, Scribblenauts Unlimited, Rabbids Land, Pikmin 3, Lego City: Undercover, Game & Wario, Darksiders II, Trine 2, Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate, and Bayonetta 2.  For me, that’s more games than I typically buy in a year, and I probably won’t end up buying them all.  It depends on their reviews and how much my interest stays with them by the time they come out.  Some of them I may pick up used quite a while after they come out.  Also, the potential for future Nintendo titles is huge.

So, those are the reasons I’m excited about the Wii U.  If you’re interested in learning more about the Wii U, learn more about it here: Nintendo Wii U.

I just felt like rambling on about it, so, there you go.

